Health Insurance for a Spain Visa, and What Happens to Your Medicare
Published Last verified
In this article
- What gets a Spanish visa refused over health insurance?
- What each U.S. consulate’s page asks of the policy
- Spanish law asks for less than the consulates
- Checking that the insurer is authorized in Spain
- Renewals: keeping the policy, and the convenio question
- What Medicare pays for once you live in Spain
- Parts A, B and D when your home is in Spain
- Part A
- Part B
- Part D and Medicare Advantage
- Keeping or dropping Part B: the trade-off
- Your next step: get the insurer’s certificate before the appointment
- FAQ
Health insurance for a Spain visa has to satisfy two texts: the migration ministry’s information sheet, which asks for a policy from an insurer authorized to operate in Spain, and the consulate’s page, which in several U.S. cities rules out co-payments, coverage limits and travel insurance. Medicare cannot stand in, because it usually does not cover care outside the United States. Drop Part B while you live in Spain, though, and signing up again can mean a wait and a lasting premium penalty. This article is for informational purposes only and is not medical, legal, tax or insurance advice; verify current requirements with the relevant Spanish authority or a licensed professional.
What gets a Spanish visa refused over health insurance?
Most consulate pages list what they will not accept; a policy that misses one item is not the document the consulate asked for.
- Travel insurance. Washington and Los Angeles accept no travel insurance with medical assistance cover, San Francisco, Houston and Boston refuse it too, and Miami says the policy must be health insurance, not travel insurance.
- A card instead of a certificate. Washington, San Francisco, Houston and Boston do not accept an insurance card as proof of coverage.
- An insurer not authorized in Spain. Hoja 6, the ministry’s information sheet on the non-lucrative authorization, and Washington’s page both require an insurer authorized to operate in Spain.
- Co-payments, deductibles and limits. All eight pages in the table below rule out co-payments; Washington, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Miami, Houston and Boston want 100 percent of medical, hospital and out-of-hospital costs covered, and Los Angeles, Chicago, New York and Houston name deductibles too.
- Too short a policy. Washington and Los Angeles want 1 year; four others want the whole stay or authorization.
- No Spanish text. Washington wants the policy in Spanish, with Spanish text, or with an official or sworn translation; San Francisco and Houston ask for a certificate in Spanish.
What each U.S. consulate’s page asks of the policy
These are the non-lucrative visa pages of the 8 consulates on the mainland. San Juan’s, for Puerto Rico, asks only for the original and a copy of a certificate from an insurer authorized to operate in Spain, covering every public system risk. None of the 9 pages shows an update date.
| Consulate | Cover the page requires | Waiting period wording | Policy length | Repatriation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington | Every risk the public system insures, 100 percent of medical, hospital and out-of-hospital costs, no copayment or coverage limit | “Deficiency” ruled out | Valid 1 year, kept for the whole stay | Not mentioned |
| Los Angeles | Every public system risk for all visa beneficiaries, no deductible, copayment or coverage limit | “No waiting period” | Valid 1 year | Not mentioned |
| San Francisco | Risks covered for Spanish nationals, no copayment or coverage limit | “Deficiency” exclusion for pre-existing conditions ruled out | Whole authorization | Not mentioned |
| Chicago | Every public system risk, unlimited cover, no co-payment or deductible | Not mentioned | Not stated | Not mentioned |
| New York | Same wording as Chicago | Not mentioned | Not stated | Not mentioned |
| Miami | All risks covered for nationals, at least preventive, diagnostic, treatment and rehabilitation care plus urgent health transport, no copayment or limit | “Deficiency” ruled out | Whole authorization | Not necessary |
| Houston | Every National Health System risk, no deductible, copayment or coverage limit | Not mentioned | Whole intended stay | Not mentioned |
| Boston | Every public system risk plus preventive, diagnostic, treatment and rehabilitation care and urgent health transport, no copayment or coverage limit | “Deficiency” ruled out | Whole stay | Not mentioned |
A policy with no co-payment, deductible, waiting period, pre-existing condition exclusion or coverage limit, valid for at least 1 year and kept for the whole stay, meets the strictest wording on each of these points. San Francisco also wants the certificate to name you and the date cover starts, Los Angeles wants every visa beneficiary covered, and Chicago, New York and Boston ask for the original and a copy, as Houston does for every document. The non-lucrative visa guide covers the rest of the file.
For other visas, Washington’s telework visa page waives the private certificate if you prove Spanish Social Security coverage, as the digital nomad visa guide explains. Houston’s student visa page wants cover from 1 month before studies start until 15 days after they end. Washington’s Schengen visa page asks for repatriation and at least 30,000 euros of cover, but only for short stays.
Spanish law asks for less than the consulates
On insurance, article 61 of Royal Decree 1155/2024, the immigration regulation, says only that the non-lucrative applicant must hold “un seguro de enfermedad”, a health insurance policy. Hoja 6, last updated in May 2025, adds that it may be public or private and must come from an insurer authorized to operate in Spain. The words copago (co-payment) and carencia (waiting period) appear nowhere in the consolidated regulation. The other conditions in the table come from the consulates’ own pages. Plan on your consulate’s page: it is the office you apply to.
Washington, Miami and Boston rule out a “deficiency”. That English word most likely renders the Spanish carencia, a waiting period before cover starts; this is our reading, not the consulates’ wording, and only Los Angeles writes “no waiting period” in so many words. San Francisco’s ban on a “deficiency” exclusion for pre-existing conditions points the same way, so ask the insurer to state both in writing.
Checking that the insurer is authorized in Spain
San Francisco’s page and Washington’s telework page both link the public registry of the Dirección General de Seguros y Fondos de Pensiones (DGSFP), the directorate general for insurance and pension funds. On the registry search, look the insurer up by name, code or NIF (tax number), then filter by status (Activa, active), line of business 2 (Enfermedad, sickness) and entity type. The registry also lists foreign insurers operating in Spain through a branch (code E, whose home state may be in the European Economic Area or a third country) or, from another EEA state, under the freedom to provide services (code L). The consulate pages speak only of an insurer authorized to operate in Spain; ask your consulate before you rely on one listed under code L.
Renewals: keeping the policy, and the convenio question
Hoja 7, updated in May 2025, and article 64 of the regulation require that you kept health insurance throughout the authorization you are renewing and continue to hold it, and the file proves insurance for the whole renewal period. Hoja 7 also requires more than 183 days of actual residence in Spain in the calendar year. Neither text says whether the policy may then be public, or may carry co-payments.
The public alternative is the convenio especial, a paid agreement with the public health system. Under Royal Decree 576/2013, it needs 1 year of continuous actual residence in Spain just before you apply (the Ministry of Health and Madrid pages below also count time in another EU or EEA state, Switzerland or the UK, but not in the U.S.), registration on the padrón (the municipal register) and no other access to public healthcare, and the national fee is 60 euros a month under 65 and 157 euros at 65 or older; regions may charge more if they add services, and the Comunidad de Madrid’s page, updated on December 9, 2024, repeats both fees. The Ministry of Health’s page says the convenio is aimed at economically inactive foreigners who need health insurance to reside in Spain, but it carries no date and rests on RD 240/2007 on EU citizens, an EU directive and RD 557/2011, the immigration regulation RD 1155/2024 replaced. Neither Hoja 7 nor the regulation says the convenio satisfies a non-lucrative renewal: keep your private policy, and ask the Oficina de Extranjería handling your renewal whether it accepts the convenio before you switch. The convenio especial guide covers the application, and the padrón guide the registration it needs.
What Medicare pays for once you live in Spain
Medicare.gov counts only the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories as the U.S.; Spain is outside it. The April 2026 fact sheet on coverage outside the U.S. lists 3 situations in which Medicare may pay for care in a foreign hospital: an emergency inside the U.S. when a foreign hospital is closer, travel through Canada between Alaska and another state, and living in the U.S. closer to a foreign hospital than to a U.S. one. None fits a home in Spain. Otherwise you pay the full cost, and Medicare plans cannot cover drugs you buy outside the U.S.
Medigap plans C, D, F, G, M and N, and the discontinued E, H, I and J, include foreign travel emergency care: after a $250 yearly deductible, they pay 80 percent of billed charges for certain medically necessary emergency care, up to a $50,000 lifetime limit, and only if the care begins in the first 60 days of a trip, the fact sheet adds. Read that way, it is built for trips, not a home in Spain; the pages read do not say whether you can keep a Medigap policy while living abroad.
Parts A, B and D when your home is in Spain
Part A
If you get Social Security and live abroad, the Welcome to Medicare package for people outside the U.S., dated January 2026, says you are enrolled in Part A automatically, with no premium, and that your coverage is generally for when you return to the U.S. CMS enrolls people residing in the U.S. in Parts A and B together; abroad, only Part A comes automatically.
Part B
Part B is optional abroad. The foreign Welcome letter gives you 7 months from the letter’s date to sign up if you plan to return and want it. If you keep it, the premium comes out of your Social Security benefit, or you get a bill every 3 months if the benefit does not cover it. People with premium-free Part A can enroll in Part B, while those who pay for Part A must also be U.S. residents, CMS states.
CMS set the 2026 standard premium at $202.90 a month, up from $185.00 in 2025, with a $283 deductible, in a fact sheet of November 14, 2025. For 2026, a higher premium applies if your 2024 modified adjusted gross income was above $109,000 filing single or $218,000 filing jointly (Medicare & You 2027). That handbook, dated September 2026, still quotes the 2026 premium, so check the CMS newsroom for the 2027 amount.
Part D and Medicare Advantage
To join a drug plan, you must live in its service area and be lawfully present in the U.S., and plans can, and in some cases must, disenroll members who move outside their service area (Medicare & You 2027). The CMS 2026 enrollment guidance says living abroad is not permanent residence for Medicare Advantage or Part D. In its example, a beneficiary living in Italy gets his Part D window only once he meets every requirement after returning. After you move back, you have 2 full months after the month of the move to join a drug or Advantage plan (Medicare.gov).
Keeping or dropping Part B: the trade-off
This guide does not recommend keeping or dropping Part B. Keeping it costs the premium above for cover that generally applies once you are back in the U.S. Dropping it saves the premium, at a cost if you return, and Part D has a penalty of its own.
- The penalty. Medicare.gov adds 10 percent for each full 12-month period you could have had Part B, usually for as long as you have it. Its 2026 example: two full years late means 20 percent, $202.90 plus $40.58, or $243.50 a month.
- The wait. Without a special enrollment period, you sign up in the General Enrollment Period, January 1 to March 31, and coverage starts the month after. The foreign Welcome package warns of a possible gap, and that private, non-employer insurance abroad may not qualify you for a special period. Medicare’s list has no general entry for living abroad. The same package describes a special period if you are 65 or older, you or your spouse still work, and you have employer or union group coverage from that job, and the only one tied to time abroad is volunteer service of at least 12 months for a tax-exempt organization (CMS), beside a discretionary period for exceptional conditions.
- Part D. Its penalty is 1 percent of the national base premium, $38.99 in 2026, per full month you were eligible without coverage (Medicare.gov). Form CMS-1696 names living outside the U.S. during the initial enrollment period as a ground to contest it, with proof of overseas residency; no Medicare or CMS page read here says outright that months abroad never count, so keep dated proof of your Spanish address.
Put the choice, with your dates, to Medicare and to the Social Security Administration, which handles Medicare sign-up. The Social Security guide covers your benefits in Spain.
Your next step: get the insurer’s certificate before the appointment
Ask the insurer for a certificate in Spanish that names you, gives start and end dates, and states cover for every risk the Spanish public system insures, with no co-payment, deductible, waiting period (carencia) or coverage limit, for the length your consulate asks. Check the insurer on the DGSFP registry, then compare the certificate line by line with your consulate’s page. Once you hold residence, the public healthcare guide explains access to the public system.
You can do this alone: the registry is public and the consulate pages are in English. Get help from a licensed insurance broker in Spain if the certificate does not match your consulate’s wording, and talk to Medicare or the SSA before you drop Part B, because the penalty and the wait only show up when you come back.
The Spain Navigator puts every step of your move to Spain in order, from the visa to settling in.
FAQ
Does Medicare cover me while I live in Spain?
Usually not. Medicare.gov says Medicare usually does not cover care outside the U.S., and its April 2026 fact sheet lists only 3 foreign hospital situations, all tied to being in the U.S. or crossing Canada between Alaska and another state. Outside them you pay the full cost, and Medicare plans cannot cover drugs bought abroad. Your Spanish policy or the public system has to carry your care.
Will a travel insurance policy work for a Spanish long-stay visa?
No. Washington and Los Angeles will not accept travel insurance with medical assistance cover, San Francisco, Houston and Boston refuse travel insurance too, and Miami says the policy must be health insurance, not travel insurance. The travel medical policy with repatriation and a 30,000 euro minimum belongs to short-stay Schengen visas, which Washington's consulate describes on a separate page.
Does my Spanish visa policy need repatriation cover?
Not for a long-stay visa, according to Miami, the only U.S. consulate whose non-lucrative visa page addresses it: the policy must be health insurance, not travel insurance, so it need not cover repatriation or evacuation. The other consulates' long-stay pages do not mention repatriation. The repatriation rule, with at least 30,000 euros of cover, appears on Washington's page for short-stay Schengen visas.
Can I switch to the convenio especial when I renew my non-lucrative residence?
Neither Hoja 7 nor article 64 of the regulation settles it: both ask only for health insurance kept and continued. The Ministry of Health says the convenio is aimed at inactive foreigners who need insurance to reside, but its undated page rests on EU citizens' rules and a repealed regulation. The convenio needs 1 year of residence and the padrón, and costs 60 or 157 euros a month nationally.
What happens if I drop Part B and later move back to the U.S.?
You may have to wait for the General Enrollment Period, January 1 to March 31, with coverage from the following month. Living abroad does not by itself open a special enrollment period; volunteer service abroad or group coverage from a current job can. Your premium rises 10 percent for each full 12-month period you could have had Part B, usually for as long as you keep it.
Can I join a Medicare drug plan while I live in Spain?
No. To join a Part D plan you must live in its service area and be lawfully present in the U.S., and CMS guidance says living abroad is not permanent residence. After you move back, you have 2 full months after the month of the move to join. CMS's reconsideration form lists time lived outside the U.S. as a ground to contest a Part D late enrollment penalty.
Sources
Official pages this guide was checked against, with the date we last read them.
- Non-working (Non-lucrative) Residency Visa
- Non-working (Non-lucrative) residence visa
- Non-working (Non-lucrative) residence visa
- Non-lucrative Residence Visa (NLV)
- Non-working residence visa
- Non-working residence visa
- Non-working residence visa
- Visado de residencia no lucrativa. Consulado General de España en San Juan de Puerto Rico
- Non-working residence visa
- Telework (Digital nomad) Visa
- Student visa
- Schengen Visas
- Hoja 6. Autorización inicial de residencia temporal no lucrativa
- Hoja 7. Renovación de la autorización de residencia temporal no lucrativa
- Real Decreto 1155/2024, Reglamento de la Ley Orgánica 4/2000, texto consolidado
- Real Decreto 576/2013, requisitos básicos del convenio especial de prestación de asistencia sanitaria, texto consolidado
- Convenio especial de prestación de asistencia sanitaria
- Convenio de asistencia sanitaria
- Registro de entidades aseguradoras y reaseguradoras
- Travel outside the U.S.
- Medicare Coverage Outside the United States (fact sheet, April 2026)
- Learn what Medigap covers (foreign travel emergency)
- Avoid late enrollment penalties
- When does Medicare coverage start?
- Welcome to Medicare. Package for people living outside the U.S. (January 2026)
- Special Enrollment Periods
- How much does Medicare drug coverage cost?
- Medicare and You 2027
- 2026 Medicare Parts A and B premiums and deductibles
- Original Medicare (Part A and B) eligibility and enrollment
- Medicare Advantage and Part D enrollment and disenrollment guidance (CY 2026)
- Part D late enrollment penalty reconsideration request form (CMS-1696)
- Sign up for Medicare